Winter Solstice Seasonal Cycle Poem by Claire Knight

Neolithic site of the Goseck circle. The yello...
Image via Wikipedia

Today we have a timely and beautiful winter cycle seasonal poem by Claire Knight, inspired by the midwinter change, when the nights start getting lighter, and people start looking forward to spring.

Thanks to Claire for creating and sharing it, and a serene Solstice, merry Christmas and happy holidays to everybody. 

Thanks for visiting fmpoetry in 2010, and best wishes for 2011!

 

Winter Cycle

Settling us into the time of dark
Winter Solstice fades away.
A fire crackles in the hearth
reflections on things now passed
draw unbidden into the mind.
Was I all I could be…?
Did I say and give all I wanted to?
the old year closes its door

midnight: one year slips into another

a new year opens a window.
Will I find and cherish all I hope for?
Can I be all I could?…
questions drawn into the mind
reflections on things to come.
A candle flickers here on earth
Imbolc awaits her turn
shifting us into the light of Spring.

One thought on “Winter Solstice Seasonal Cycle Poem by Claire Knight”

Leave a Reply

