Comedy Fantasy – Magic Realism Epic Poem

Hi, it’s Grey. I’m proud to say that my last experiences in the epic Battle of Bri’s Bane are now up on the Werewolf of Oz blog in the third and final instalment of the trilogy; and we’ve imported them all into the Greenygrey world and present them below. They bring back some memories I can tell you. I would try and build some more drama by asking if I survive, but I’m back in the Greenygrey world now, so you know I do!!

That isn’t the end of the story though, there are still seven more posts to go, with lots of exciting and funny experiences and adventures in them, and we hope to have the whole edited and improved book on Amazon very soon…

New recruits queue near the tombstones.

Battle of Bri’s Bane Epic Trilogy Poem 1

Dead men tell no tales
only the competitive fails
in war there is no sport
to survivors the lesson is taught.

We had not long assembled
before Greenslopes trembled
as balls of fire landed at will
shot from high on Cannon Hill.

Our allies the Woolloongabba
met their Waterloo like Abba
falling in multiple millions
history’s cannon fodder minions.

The COG commandos led the counter-attack
up Greenslopes watching each other’s back
chinchillas, dogs, humans, wombats and hats
above us flew eagles, dolphins and bats.

Yes, I did say dolphins above us
for a spirit appeared without fuss
and I’ m sure it was Kalbarri Barry
riding the sky waves with his family.

 

Deutsch: Neuartige Waldschäden („Waldsterben“)...
Image via Wikipedia

 

Battle of Bri’s Bane Epic Trilogy Poem 2

The COG commandos lost legions
fur and skin torn to lesions
rolling back down the slope in heroic death
Chinchillas of Goya drawing their last breath.

I reached the top after an hour of struggle
and saw Bri’s bane officers in a huddle
Emily and Brian were flying a pincer attack
Emerald from the front, Baggy from back.

My travel companions and I rushed to help
an arrow glanced Aussie and it gave out a yelp
we continued on through a battlefield royal
the chinchillas and allies staying loyal.

As Brian and Emily approached Bri’s bane
the huddle suddenly opened into acid rain
seeming to scent Brian it turned sharply
and flew screeching like a demented harpy.

I shapeshifted into a wolf and raced to Brian
distracting Bri’s bane rain as Emily leapt like a lion
Brian jumped for joy as the hats converged
soaking up the acid rain until it was purged.

 

Acid rain results on monuments
Image via Wikipedia

 

Battle of Bri’s Bane Epic Trilogy Poem 3

I lay on the Greenslopes ground
watched by allies all around
Bri’s bane was no more
the acid rain cleansed from floor.

‘We knew not a wolf you would become’
said Emily with a look of concern
‘for the bane was not only of Brian’s
but also of wolves and lions.’

‘So the wolfsbane is inside you now
but maybe we can work out how
to make you healthy again
I’ll try counting to ten.’

Emily counted up to eight
and my mood improved to third rate
on nine I felt along the right line
and once I heard ten I was fine.

I rose to join the others
my brothers and sisters
in arms and hats we had fought
and achieved what we sought.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

