Werewolf Mary Wollstonecraft New Philosophy Correspondent

Hi, it’s Mary Werewolfstonecraft, new philosophy correspondent at the Greenygrey. For humans reading this, my closest parallel in the human world is Mary Wollstonecraft, who is described in Philip Stokes’s Philosophy: 100 Essential Thinkers as the original feminist, but who saw ‘the rights of both men and women as mutual and inextricably linked’, and ‘that slavery and the treatment of the poor at that time were immoral.’

Right Time and Place 

Albert Camus' tombstone in Lourmarin
Albert Camus’ tombstone in Lourmarin (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I think I probably got the job ahead of other great thinkers on the shortlist, Max Wolfer (Weber) and Albert Canis (Camus), because Marc Latham recently passed from the Kerouacian age to the Agnethan. That was of course explained in a recent blog here… and because I’m more a-were than them.

Talking of Marc Latham, I’ve got some of his recent thoughts and writing to report.

On Creativity in Humanity

In its On Books and Burning blog post City Jackdaw ended it by setting the question: Is it the appreciation of art, and of beauty, that sets us apart?

Deutsch: Hamburg, Heine-Denkmal am Rathausplat...
Deutsch: Hamburg, Heine-Denkmal am Rathausplatz, Tafel zur Bücherverbrennung, 1981-82 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Marc Latham promptly answered with the comment: ‘I think all human civilisations have appreciated art, even if they burned art they didn’t agree with. I’m pretty sure most intelligent non-human life appreciates beauty, and the art of nature, judging from the way they soak up the sun and wind; and even rain and snow at times, such as after drought.’

Then after taking more time to think (having studied Latham for some years I have come to the opinion that he is more of a slow thinker than a prompt responder [I think I might have sounded like Marit Meredith’s Diary of a Would-Be-Protagonist there, which I’ve recently been reading!]), and remembering his knowledge gained and information shared over the six years of the Greenygrey, added this even more greenygrey philosophical comment; which also reminded me of ol’ Wollstonecraft’s description above, which I just re-read:

Puffer Fish Artistic Structures 

‘I’ve been mulling over the question, and I agree with you almost totally, but would say it’s more: makes us different than sets us apart.

I think we are the most creative species, but others create things too, such as the amazing structures male puffer fishes (sic: Marc wrote fishes) make to serenade females.

And while some individual humans are creative with words or images, others might be with comedy or construction.

I think most people could be creative if taught, or had some inspiration; while others discover their creativity after illness or shocks: it’s there in the brain, but not used.’

I asked Marc if he was thinking about the Greenygrey philosophy when he wrote it, and he said no, but he noticed afterwards.

I told him we did too.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

