Kamchatka Peninsula Karaginsky Island Fantasy Travel Poetry

While we found an article describing the Kamchatka Peninsula as fish-shaped, our intrepid researchers did not find one describing its neighbouring island Karaginsky as also being fish-shaped: to us it looks like a little fish just born from Kamchatka, and shot out facing the other direction. Here’s a photo of them together, with Karaginsky at the top-right of the image:

Topography of Kamchatka Peninsula
Topography of Kamchatka Peninsula (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

XaW Files Episode 3 Follows Claim Discovery

Hi, it’s Jack Wolfpac, legendary travel writer correspondent at the Greenygrey inspired by Jack Kerouac in the human world.

The Greenygrey hereby claims rights to the discovery of Karaginsky as a little fish-shape to Kamchatka’s big; putting down the virtual Greenygrey flag. If one day approved, it would be the first great discovery of the Greenygrey’s epic fantasy travels by Google Maps.

While you might think that’s enough for one blog; and if you did you’ll be delighted … or disappointed…; to read that we’ve also got the third thrilling episode of the story, which also provides the first prattle of poetry. Here it is:

karaginsky island

Chapter 1 Episode 3

1.

Can’t see in Karaginsky.

2.

Falling through earth
emerging in rocks like birth.

3.

Sitting in a cavernous belly
water washing around
multiple boulders and me.

kamchatka-ice-cave

4.

Come chat with me
said Karaginsky
I’m Kamchatka’s
carousing baby.

5.

I look like I just shot
out of a dolphin
swimming north
opposite direction
to my mother’s mouth.

6.

I’m a rock fish baby
drinking water
digesting everything
I can live on seaweed
and a little summer time
haven’t had werewolf for a while.

YellowtailRockfish

7.

So tell me lost traveller
what you think I should do
should I rock you in
or roll you out
it’s still your shout
but please don’t hang about
because I can hear winter start to shout.

8.

That was some carousing
Karaginsky I did reply
I like your belly
in a way I can’t describe
but I’m on a quest
to find another lost werewolf
who’s been this way
for a much longer time.

9.

So please do send me
on my way
and if you saw pure folklore
pass this way
could you let me know
what direction it did take
so I can continue my just
started new ramble Eurasia
somewhere in east Russia.

3-D Perspective Kamchatka Peninsula Russia
3-D Perspective Kamchatka Peninsula Russia (Photo credit: NASA on The Commons)

10.

It’s not your time to rock
caroused Karaginsky
I can see you have work to do
it’s obvious to me
there was a werewolf
going to the Okhotsk Sea
we had a similar conversation
over a cup of tea
only it said ‘Y: wolf not war’
not all the time, not repeatedly.

Marc Latham has books available on Smashwords and Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/author/marclatham), including previous Greenygrey’s rambles.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

