ABBA Return as Lovren and Ronaldo Star in Europe

After what turned out to be a three-days trilogy of Folding Mirror poems, I feel a bit drained of creativity today, so thought I’d catch up on some greenYgrey world news. Along the way I decided to do it in a 2 good 2 bad style used in Match of the Day 2; they do events, mine is news.

ABBA Return

My XaW Files: Beyond Humanity book, which included a lot of Folding Mirror style poetry, only in free verse form, proclaimed a new ABBA age, and now they are reported to be returning for real after thirty-five years with two new songs, after meeting up again last year.

Lovren and Ronaldo in Euro Semis

There weren’t many footballers mentioned in the book, and two of those who were, the only two I can remember at the moment, are in different Champions League semis, and their teams are favourites to go through after the first legs. Ronaldo of Real Madrid was already a star and RM could be expected to be where they are, but Lovren and Liverpool are a surprise, although they did reach the Europa League final together in the year of XaW Files’s publication.

Arrividerci Avicii

While Sweden welcomed Abba back it must have been a bittersweet week for them, after Avicii passed away. He was only 28, just making it past the mythical rock n’ roll bogey age of 27. He was after my time in dance music and I didn’t know much about him, but he seems like he could be house music’s Kurt Cobain? I liked the quote I heard of remembering him for the life he’s led rather than the money he’s made. My version would be the money I haven’t made!

Alfie Evans Parents

After I featured John Lennon here this week, and Working Class Hero, I think Alfie Evans’s parents acted like that throughout the sad story of his struggle for life. Going into my Magnificent Seven Charles Bronson’s Bernardo O’Reilly dying quote mode, I think it’s people like that that are the real heroes, rather than the people who often get celebrity status for negative reasons, or trying to be too shouty political on social media when they know little about it.

Leave a comment