I Thank Humanity, For Hot Air

I thank humanity for the hot air that provided the thermals for my Nietzschean Superman flight. I looked to the sun for reflection, but it is not a mirror. It just kept roaring and bellowing, with too much work to do controlling its system. I turned to leave, at least warmed by its workings; not that it seemed to increase its heat for me, it’s just the way it is. I thought I heard it whisper with a whoosh of solar wind, ‘Thank you for keeping your distance. Icarus did not die in vain. I am glad of that, for I liked him, but could not save him. For that is not my job.’

Mind On Sun, Warmth Without Reflection

flying high, as far as I can get
in my mind I imagine
it’s enlightenment or superman
farther than my sight
above the clouds and atmosphere
to space and solitude
rising on thermals
hot air of humanity

but I still know,  deep down I’m grounded

using knowledge of others
what governments allow
media chooses to show
limits of time and space
in future little trace
attempts at philosophical writing
lost between classic and future
but I have searched my time, and returned

One thought on “I Thank Humanity, For Hot Air”

Leave a comment