Why I’m a Creative Writer Poet: Stream of Consciousness Poem

I removed some mental clutter on the travel25years.wordpress.com site yesterday, my mind’s been enthused by reading about UFOs recently, including photosynthesis on Earth in a scientific one, and the latest NASA’s Unexplained Files (series 2, episode 2) last night (which featured orbs amongst other things, saying they often happen above geological fault lines before earthquakes, so they think they could be created by the same tectonic friction that causes earthquakes. My ‘experience’ was of course in Iceland, famously home to one part of a fault line, where you can swim between the North American and Eurasian plates. Thankfully, an earthquake or volcanic eruption hasn’t followed, and it’s now over a year later.) If any photography experts think it is a camera light trick please let me know; it certainly wasn’t mine!

Poetic Inspiration

I think I’ve just about recovered from a cold I’ve had all week, and I think recovering from illness can provide a little ‘high’. I’ve done the ‘right thing’ and tried to avoid other people as much as possible; but tend to do that now anyway!

Moreover, the sun is shining on snow-covered roofs, providing more mental stimulation, as it differs from the norm. I was also looking back with nostalgia at the Y-day week of celebrations, and especially how T had unconsciously found a place in Oates’s final quote: ‘I may be some Time.’

While you may look on me negatively, celebrating my own work, to me, my conscious as I write this, it doesn’t even seem my work; rather it’s my hidden unconscious, which is like my ‘twin’, or the muse. We are of course now in the muse half of the mistYmuse new-age winter festival!

While there are lots of new-age pagan bands, titles and themes I like in rock now, I was particularly poetically impressed by Earth’s album title: ‘The Bees Made Honey in the Lion’s Skull’!

I could make my new poem below into a Folding Mirror poem, but for now, here it is stream of consciousness style. While it’s probably covered old themes of mine; something I’ve criticised rock bands for doing before!; it does have some new and updated material, and the biggest new innovation of having the title at the start and finish; kind of Folding Mirror style…

When Time Stopped, Trees Breathed Photosynthesis, Aliens Returned Requesting…

that moment you don’t remember happening
when you’ve worked up enough steam
and you can freewheel
as if you’ve climbed the steep hill
and now you’re racing down the other side
or struggled upriver against the tide
and now you’re rushing downriver
with the tide washing over you
driving and covering you
so you just have to breathe and steer
but while in physical activities
you just have experience and memories
here you also have
‘genius’ word connections
popping out of
synchronicity in motion
like atoms reacting
creating electrical charges
brain freeflowing
open to cosmos
like puddle to cloud
ocean and rain
no need for devotion
pure pleasure
zonal leisure
this is the moment you write
like the times you feel like flying
when running or cycling
having warmed up on the day
after years of training
the sun is shining
words are flowing
and when you review
they sparkle more than you
remember writing
or even think
you’re capable of
producing, creating, painting
while the conscious has the here and now
the unconscious has past and present… future?..

Humanity, put a stop to this.

P.S. Notice that last line fitting finale little bit of self-proclaimed genius wordplay – which was the unconscious in control as I wrote about times when the unconscious is in control – ‘put a stop to this’ before the full stop!?

2 thoughts on “Why I’m a Creative Writer Poet: Stream of Consciousness Poem”

Leave a comment